A brief note about tea and surgery

The proper way to make tea is to pour boiling hot water onto the tea bag. Purists would assert that there is certainly a much more involved process, but this is the bare minimum.

On the other hand, when I had my surgery at VGH recently, I discovered that they serve tea in a most unorthodox manner. I was chowing through the most delicious cream of wheat the morning after my surgery when I turned to my tea. Then, I discovered, much to my shock and dismay, a cup of tepid water, and a dry tea bag on the side. I had to insert the bag into the cooled water and wait for my tea.

It is one of the miracles of modern medicine that they can remove a body part from one individual, attach it to another individual, and have it function in its new body.

Yet they can’t even make a decent cup of tea.

tea

2 thoughts on “A brief note about tea and surgery

    • Suutei tsai (Turkish: Sütlü çay) (literally “tea with milk”) is a traditional Mongolian beverage. The name suutei tsai in Mongolian means milk tea. The drink is also known as süütei tsai, tsutai tsai, or Mongolian salty tea.

      http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suutei_tsai

      Suutei Tsai is a Mongolian tea which literally means, “salty tea with milk.” It is prepared using a variety of tea that grows only in Central Asia and China.

      In preparation, the tea and water are brought to a boil and the milk is added.

      Instead of stirring, the Mongolians will lift out some liquid with a ladle and let it splash back from a certain height.

      When the tea is ready to be served, it is seasoned with salt to taste, strained and served.

      http://www.ancientworlds.net/aw/Thread/1042304

Leave a Reply

